Month: December 2010

  • Another Common Photographer Scam

    I received an email today that read the following:

    (from: chan jackie – Subjec: service)

    I am Frodo Davies from 49 Doughty St London. I am a wood carver, I would be coming to u.s.a to announce my sculptures for sales on 14th of January,kindly let me know how much you charge for taken picture for me while I am on the move for the sculptures sales announcement . please give me your zip code so I can locate an hotel near to you and also your price for the service to be rendered.

    I would look forward to read from you soon

    Frodo

    Now I know that most aspiring photographers out there are NOT as gullible as the old grandma’s who actually get duped into sending money to Nigeria, but I just thought I’d point this out really quick. Part infomercial, part joke because the names are so ridiculous. Frodo the wood carver!

    Anyways, this is the oldest scam in the book. Nobody’s gonna email you out of the blue, from London, about their travels to your area and their need for your services. One way or another, it would end up with them over-paying me with a money order or cashier’s check, then asking me to pay them back a little bit, and of course the money order goes bad.

    There are many other variations on this scam, but I can’t remember the stories at the moment. Anybody got any links to other stories that other photographers have been fed by scam artists?

    Good luck out there! The internet is a dangerous place…

    =Matt=

    (Samsung cell phone, SOOC JPG, spot metering,
    AWB, in-camera contrast & saturation turned up.)

    BlogWebsiteArticlesWorkshopsContact

Calendar

December 2010
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031